Most Successful Teams In UEFA Champions League

Most Champions League titles winners
UEFA Champions League is a yearly club competition in Europe which was established back in 1955 and used to be known as European Cup. 22 Teams has won the european cup so far with Real Madrid being the most successful winning 10 overall titles and first five consecutive 1955-56 season to 1959-60.
European Cup Era 1955 to 1991: european cup and the competition involved only knockout (home/away) ties with only league champion teams from european countries participated. Real Madrid won 5 back to back titles in the first 5 seasons and added another in 1966 making them the most dominant team in this era.
Modern Era 1992 to date: It was re-branded as UEFA Champions League and a group stages was added to the competition for the first time where even teams who finished 2nd or 3rd in top leagues could participate. Which brought alot more competition and since 1992 no team has manage to defend the title which goes to show that titles won after 1992 are worth alot more than in the “European Cup Era”. Real Madrid has won 4 titles each since 1992 but its FC Barcelona who has been most dominant since new format was formed winning all their 5 titles in modern era.
Overall spanish teams (Real Madrid 10 & Barcelona 5) has been the most successful winning 15 titles, Italian teams has won it 12 times (Milan 7, Inter 3 and Juventus 2) and English clubs also won 12 titles (Liverpool 5, Manchester United 3, Nottingham Forest 2, Aston Villa and Chelsea once). Before we take a look at all historic champions here is the list of most successful teams in both European Cup and Champions League era.
Most Successful Teams In UEFA Champions League History
NO#CLUBEuropean Cup Era (1955-91)Modern Era (1992 to date)
1SpainReal Madrid(1956,57,58,59,60,66)(1998,2000,02,14)
2italyAC Milan(1963,69,89,90)(1994,2003,07)
3GermanyFC Bayern Munich(1974,75,76)(2001,2013)
5SpainFC Barcelona0(1992, 2006,09,11,15) 
7italyInter Milan(1964,65)(2010)
8EnglandManchester United(1968)(1999, 2008)
10PortugalFC Benfica2 (1961, 62)0
11EnglandNottingham Forest2 (1979,80)
12PortugalFC Porto(1987)(2004)
14GermanyHamburg1 (1983)
15RomaniaSteaua București(1986)0
16franceMarseille01 (1993)
17germanyBorussia Dortmund0(1997)
20EnglandAston Villa(1982)
21hollandPSV Eindhoven(1988)0
22SerbiaRed Star Belgrade(1991)
table seperater

European Cup / Champions League Trivia:

Defending the Titles: Since the start of European Cup from 1955-56 season to 1991-92 season 8 teams were able to defend their title and here is the consecutive winning streaks registered by teams.
  1. Real Madrid 5  (1955/56 to 1959/60)
  2. Ajax 3  (1971/72/73)
  3. Bayern München 3  (1974/75/76)
  4. Benfica 2 (1961/62)
  5. Internazionale 2  (1964/65)
  6. Liverpool 2  (1977/78)
  7. Nottingham Forest 2  (1979/80)
  8. AC Milan 2  (1989/90)
Since the competition was re-branded (UEFA Champions) and expanded with group stages and more clubs, no team has won the competition back to back.
Runners-Up: Juventus has lost more Champions league finals than any other team, losing on 6 different occassions. While Bayern Munich and FC Benfica has lost 5 each. Milan and FC Barcelona has lost 4 and 3 respectively.

Share on Google Plus

Lose Stress Related Belly Fat Faster With DEACTIVATE

Become A Millionare By Joining The Millionaire's Society

This site has been around for a while. When a money making site lasts, that means it's real. Not another flash in the pan scheme. This site has made many people millionaires. The Millionaire society has helped lots of people reach that status. You can join the club and let them help you get there. It's not overnight... just a steady build up of more and more money. Try the Millionaire Society today and start building real wealth.
============More Details ============